Becquerel Prize

European Commission/Becquerel Prize Committee

The Alexandre Edmond Becquerel Prize was established in 1989 by the European Commission at the occasion of the 150th anniversary of Becquerel’s classical experiment in which he discovered the photovoltaic effect. Its purpose is to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of photovoltaic solar energy, attained over a long period of continuous achievements, or very exceptionally, for some extraordinary invention or discovery. It is primarily a European Award but not restricted exclusively to European citizens. The Prize is awarded periodically to a single individual. The Prize cannot be shared nor given to an institution or team. The Becquerel Prize Committee selects the individual to be honoured with the prize. The committee is formed by: (a) all the past awardees, (b) the Chairperson of the Solar Energy Conference where the prize will be awarded, (c) one representative of the European Commission, (d) the organiser of the conference where the prize will be awarded.

< Back